All England 2016

Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei and Spain’s Carolina Marin have been named as top seeds in the singles events for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

The man who has defeated Chong Wei in the last two Olympic finals, Lin Dan, is third in the men’s singles, while two-time world champion Chen Long is second.

Dangerous Danes Viktor Axelsen and Jan O Jorgensen are fourth and fifth respectively, while Chinese Taipei’s Chou Tien Chen (6), Indonesia’s Tommy Sugiarto (7), Korea’s Son Wan Ho (8), India’s Kidambi Srikanth (9) and Hong Kong’s Hu Yun (10), complete the top ten.

Each singles category has 13 seeds, with the remaining three in the men’s draw being Hong Kong’s Ng Ka Long (11), Germany’s Marc Zwiebler (12) and England’s Rajiv Ouseph (13).

In the women’s singles, China’s Wang Yihan and defending Olympic champion Li Xuerui are second and third, respectively, with Thailand’s Ratchanok Intanon – the winner of three World Superseries titles this year – fourth.

The other seeded players are India’s Saina Nehwal (5), Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara (6), Korea’s Sung Ji Hyun (7), Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying (8), India’s PV Sindhu (9), Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi (10), Scotland’s Kirsty Gilmour (11), Thailand’s Porntip Buranaprasertsuk (12) and Korea’s Bae Yeon Ju (13).

The seedings are based on today’s world rankings and will be used for the Rio 2016 draw on Tuesday.

The men’s singles draw will consist of 41 players and there will be 40 in the women’s individual event. There will be 13 groups for both competitions, with a seeded player in each.

As for the doubles, there will be four groups of four pairs – again with a seeded player in each.

BCA Indonesia Open winners Korea’s Lee Yong Dae and Yoo Yeon Seong lead the men’s doubles seedings, ahead of Indonesian world champions Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawanin in second.

Indonesia Open 2016

Korea’s Kim Gi Jung and Kim Sa Rang, and China’s Fu Haifeng and Zhang Nan are third and fourth, respectively.

With three World Superseries titles already this season, Japan’s Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi have top billing in the women’s doubles.

China’s challenge will be led by second seeds Tang Yuanting and Yu Yang, while Indonesia’s Greysia Polii and Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (3) and Korea’s Jung Kyung Eun and Shin Seung Chan (4) are also seeded.

Mixed doubles defending champions Zhang Nan and Zhao Yunlei of China are seeded first for Rio 2016; ahead of Korea’s OUE Singapore Open winners Ko Sung Hyun and Kim Ha Na (2), Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open champions Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir of Indonesia (3), and Denmark’s Joachim Fischer Nielsen and Christinna Pedersen (4), who won last year’s Yonex Japan Open.

Tickets for the YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships 2017 are now on general sale. To get your tickets click here